Marske United midfielder Craig Gott was tonight announced as the Ebac Northern League Player of the Year.

The Seasiders midfielder was a key part of the team which won a second title in four years, with Craig also scoring 20 league goals.

And Marske made it a double when Carl Jarrett was named Manager of the Year at the league’s annual presentation dinner at Durham’s Ramside Hall Hotel.

League secretary Kevin Hewitt was awarded the Arthur Clark Memorial Trophy which is given to the person who has done most to represent the values of the league.  The award was in recognition of his work in dealing with an unprecedented backlog of fixtures due to the bad weather and the league’s application to the FA to re-adjust its position in the National League system.

Consett forward Michael Sweet was voted the Bob Moreland Young Player of the Year.

League chairman Glenn Youngman said:

“It’s been a dramatic and challenging season, but once again teams have shown the quality that runs through our league.

“In particular, congratulations to Craig Gott and Carl Jarrett for their achievements at Marske.

“On a personal note, I’d like to thank all the people on and off the field who have had to work so hard to cope with the bad weather we’ve endured this season, in particular league secretary Kevin Hewitt who has had an unbelievable task trying to make sure that games were played and the hours he put in preparing our application to the FA to re-adjust our position in the National League system.

“Next season will see major changes to the league – with automatic promotion for Marske and Morpeth and new clubs joining us, as the number of teams in each division is reduced to 20.  I’m sure that every club will rise to the challenge that the new season will bring.”

Consett’s Michael Mackay was runner-up in the Player of the Year, with Sean Taylor from Morpeth Town third.

West Auckland Town’s Nathan Fisher was the top goal scorer in Division One with 42 goals and Tow Law Town’s Dean Thexton won the Division Two top goal scorer award with 28.

Clubs were also presented with awards and cheques:


Division One winners:  Marske United (£2,000)

Runners-up: Morpeth Town (£1,500)

Third: Shildon (£1,000)

Fourth: Sunderland RCA (£750)

Division Two winners:   Blyth AFC (£1,200)

Runners-up: Hebburn Town (£800)

Third: Whickham (£600)

Fourth: Northallerton Town (£400)

Brooks Mileson Memorial League Cup

Winners: Dunston UTS (£500)

Runners-up: Bishop Auckland (£250)

Ernest Armstrong Memorial Cup

Winners: Chester-le-Street Town (£300)

Runners-up: Ryton & Crawcrook Albion (£200)


Fair Play Award winners:

Division One: Winners: Stockton Town (£400); second: North Shields (£300); third: Marske Utd (£200); and fourth: Team Northumbria (£100)

Division Two: Winners: Crook Town (£400); second: Blyth AFC (£300); third: Brandon Utd (£200) and fourth Hebburn Town (£100)

Respect Award winners: Division One: Whitley Bay (£400).  Division Two: Ryton & Crawcrook Albion (£400)


Fifteen clubs completed the season without incurring a penalty under the Administration Awards scheme.  They each received £300.  They were:  Billingham Synthonia, Consett, Dunston UTS, Stockton Town, West Auckland Town, Whitley Bay, Alnwick Town, Crook Town, Darlington RA, Heaton Stannington, Hebburn Town, Northallerton Town, Ryton & Crawcrook Albion, Tow Law Town and West Allotment Celtic.


Click here for Photo Album of Annual Awards Evening – 2017/2018 (With thanks to Gary Welford)