The annual end-of-season awards in the Ebac Northern League have been announced.

The Arthur Clark Award for voluntary work for club and league went to Jennifer and Derek Breakwell.  Sadly Derek, who was secretary at Whitley Bay and a member of the League Management Committee, passed away earlier this season.  Jennifer continues to work as a volunteer at the club.

The managers of the teams who topped the two divisions – Brian Atkinson and Ben Wheatley – were named Managers of the Year, while Aycliffe captain Aaron Brown and Birtley Town’s Aidan Rutledge were the Players of the Year for Division One and Division Two respectively.  Whickham’s Scott Robson and Horden’s Jack Maskell won the Young Player of the Year awards.

League chairman Glenn Youngman said:

“We were delighted to choose Jennifer and Derek Breakwell as the recipients of the Arthur Clark award.  It’s a bitter sweet award having sadly lost our colleague Derek, but it’s a fitting tribute to their unstinting work.

“The individual and team awards also show the depth of quality in the league, both on and off the pitch.  Tonight marks the end of a thrilling season which we hope fans and spectators have enjoyed.”

The full list of awards are:

Arthur Clark Memorial Award:

Derek and Jennifer Breakwell.

Managers of the Year:

Division One – Brian Atkinson of Newton Aycliffe.

Division Two – Ben Wheatley of Boro Rangers.

Players of the Year:

Division One – Aaron Brown of Newton Aycliffe.

Division Two – Aidan Rutledge of Birtley Town.

BBC Radio Newcastle Player of the Season

Aidan Rutledge of Birtley Town.

Young Players of the Year:

Division One – Scott Robson of Whickham.

Division Two – Jack Maskell of Horden CW.

Top goal scorers:

Division One – Liam Jarvie of Newton Aycliffe.

Division Two – Aidan Rutledge of Birtley Town.

Referee of the Year:

Kieran Graham.

Fair Play awards:

Division One – Ashington

Division Two – Esh Winning.

(The Fair Play award is based on on-field discipline with the winners accruing the fewest points for cautions, dismissals and misconduct.)

Respect awards:

Division One – joint winners:  Thornaby and Whitley Bay.

Division Two – Horden CW.

(The Respect award goes to the clubs with the fewest bookings and dismissals for dissent.)

Special commemorative salvers were also presented to Bishop Auckland and Ashington.  Bishop Auckland passed their 3,000th game in the league during the season and Ashington played their 2,000th game in the league in their final match of the season against Bishop Auckland.

Seven clubs won Administrative Awards for completing the season without incurring an administration penalty:  Ashington, Tow Law Town, West Allotment Celtic, Whitley Bay, Birtley Town, Chester-le-Street Town and Jarrow.

Framed certificates were also presented to Newton Aycliffe and Boro Rangers for winning their respective divisions.

£1,000 was also raised for Cancer Research UK at the event.

(Pictured is Jennifer Breakwell receiving the Arthur Clark Memorial Trophy from League President George Courtney.)